Seventeen Santa Monica College (SMC) students have been named 2006-07 Student Athletes of the Year.

Awards will be presented at the annual awards breakfast sponsored by the SMC General Advisory Board, a community support group, at 7:30 a.m. Thursday, May 17th, in the SMC Pavilion, 1900 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica.

The students, selected by coaches, are honored for their academic and athletic achievements.

The honorees in each sport and their coaches, are:

– men’s basketball: Noah Gottlieb (Trevor Shickman, coach);

– women’s basketball: Ashleigh Bludsoe-Osborne (Lydia Strong, coach);

– women’s swimming: Clara Lee (Steve Contarsy, coach);

– men’s swimming: Daniel Ying (Steve Contarsy, coach);

– women’s track and field: Vanessa Sautebin (Eric Barron, coach);

– men’s track and field: Tristan Tool (Larry Silva, coach);

– women’s volleyball: Sarah Hopman (Kerri Eich, coach);

– men’s volleyball: Tyson Crandell (Mark Lee, coach);

– football: Chidubamu Abana (Robert Taylor, coach);

– women’s cross-country: Yasmin Renteria (Eric Barron, coach);

– men’s cross-country: Kurosh Aghazadeh (Larry Silva, coach);

– women’s soccer: Andy Gierman (Aaron Benditson, coach);

– women’s water polo: Erin Flynn (Steve Contarsy, coach);

– men’s water polo: Azad Al-barazi (Erik Matheson, coach);

– women’s tennis: Masami Hashimoto (Richard Goldenson, coach);

– women’s softball: Krista Redick (Martin Kreman, coach); and

– cheerleading: Jennifer Maihori (Susan Corpus, coach).