Twenty-four candidates have filed to run for the 16 available seats on the Neighborhood Council of Westchester/Playa del Rey board of directors.

The Neighborhood Council of Westchester/Playa del Rey was certified by the city in 2002 and will hold its 2006 election to select its board of directors on Tuesday and Wednesday, October 3rd and 4th.

Of the 24 candidates, nine will be running unopposed in their respective seats and one seat is vacant, leaving six contested seats for voters to decide.

The following 16 seats will be on the ballot, each for a four-year term (candidates are listed alphabetically):

– Residential Area 2:

Terri Issac

– Residential Area 3:

William Ballerini

Karen Kanter

– Residential Area 6:

James Ferro

John L. Loizeaux

Laura Parise

Judeth Petix

– Residential Area 8:

John Ramey

– Residential Area 9:

Frances Stronks

– Residential Area 11:

Robert Dalton

– Residential Area 12:

Denny Schneider

– Residential Area 15:

John David Webster

– At-Large

(two seats available):

Lynn Teruko Kataoka

Sheila Mickelson

Harry Len Rose

Jennifer Li Shen

Mary Taylor

– Business:

Sibyl Buchannan

Jonathan Port

– Community Organizations:

Robert Acherman

David Voss

– Education:

Richard W. Nelsen

– Loyola Marymount


Lisa Piumetti Farland

– Service Clubs and

Fraternal Organizations:

No candidate

– Youth:

Mike Arias

Candidates have completed a candidate qualification statement as well as a statement outlining their vision for the future of the community.

Both statements for each candidate can be seen on the Neighborhood Council’s Web site,

The election will be held:

— Tuesday, October 3rd, at the CenterPointe Club, 6200 Playa Vista Drive, Playa Vista; and

— Wednesday, October 4th, at Covenant Presbyterian Church 6323 W. 80th St., Westchester.

Polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m. each day.

Voters can meet candidates at 1 p.m., Sunday, September 24th, at a Candidates Forum in the Westchester Municipal Building Community Room, 7166 Manchester Ave., Westchester.

The Westchester/Playa del Rey Neighborhood Council board of directors is comprised of 31 board positions, representing residents, business people, community volunteers and more.

The Neighborhood Council area is divided into 15 Residential Districts to assure that each segment of the community is well represented on the board.

The remaining 16 seats are five at-large member seats and a series of seats designed to encompass the widest representation of the community possible. These are voluntary positions, and directors are not paid.

To vote in the election, stakeholders — defined as anyone who lives, works or owns real property in the area generally described by the zip codes 90045, 90293 and 90094 — must register. Registration forms are available on-line at

AIRCRAFT DESIGNER SPEAKS AT FLIGHT PATH — One of the world’s leading airplane designers, Dr. Paul MacCready, chairman of AeroVironment (AV), will be the speaker at a Southern California Aeronautic Association’s dinner at Flight Path Museum on Thursday, September 21st.

His topic is “Flying Devices to Emulate and Surpass Natural Fliers.”

AeroVironment is a world leader in the design and manufacture of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).

Since the introduction of Pointer in 1986, considered by many as the first true small unmanned aircraft system, AeroVironment’s unmanned aircraft systems have supported U.S. Armed Forces with reconnaissance data, helped monitor forest fires and penetrated and analyzed volcanic plumes.

Evolving from Pointer, AeroVironment’s Raven, Dragon Eye, Swift, Puma and Wasp solutions continue to raise the bar of expectations for what a small unmanned aircraft system can accomplish in the most challenging conditions.

MacCready traditionally illustrates his presentations with actual flying models.

He designed and built the world’s first successful human-powered and solar-powered airplanes.

His famed Gossamer Condor and Albatross air vehicles are displayed in Washington’s National Air & Space Museum.

MacCready has received numerous honors, including the Collier Trophy, AIAA’s Reed Aeronautical Award and the Howard Hughes Memorial Award.

A reception will begin at 6 p.m., with dinner at 6:30 p.m.

Reservations, (310) 645-4859. Admission is $40 per person.

Flight Path Museum is at Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) in the former Imperial Terminal, 6661 W. Imperial Highway, on the south side of the airport.

LMU HOLDS MASS OF THE HOLY SPIRIT — On Thursday, September 21st, Loyola Marymount University (LMU) president Robert B. Lawton, S.J., will preside over the Mass of the Holy Spirit, one of the university’s oldest and most cherished annual traditions.

During this event, the campus community comes together to usher in the new academic year in a celebration common to its rich Jesuit and Marymount Catholic identity.

This special occasion commemorates the university’s mission and goals.

Students, faculty, staff, alumni and other community members honor this event as an opportunity to engage in conversations about LMU’s mission, goals, and the upcoming academic year.

The tradition is nearly as old as the Society of Jesus itself, dating back to the first Jesuit school in Messina, Sicily in 1548.

In the true sense of the term “Catholic,” — which means “universal” — the Mass of the Holy Spirit is celebrated worldwide among many higher education institutions, which gives attendees from all faith traditions a special sense of community, spirit and purpose.

The celebrationÝwill take place Thursday at noon in the Chapel of the Sacred Heart on the LMU campus, with a lunch reception following the mass.ÝAll are welcome to attend.