Race results were compiled by Stu Coleman, race chair, and the South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club.

South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club closed out the last weekend in March with the Les Storrs Sailing Regatta.

Twenty-nine boats filled out five fleets for two days of round-the-buoy racing, improving on last year’s 17 boat turnout.

The boats were divided into two PHRF classes, a sportboat class and Martin 242 and Cal20 one-design classes.

Saturday saw mostly cloudy skies with winds averaging eight knots and little swell in the first two races.

As the third race sequence started at 3:15 p.m., winds were above ten knots and the skies grew threatening but, with short two- to three-mile courses, racers crossed the finish line under spinnaker and headed for the breakwater.

Just enough rain fell to create a nice rainbow to the southeast.

Sunday saw slightly sunnier skies, but a backing wind during the first race sequence caused the race committee to reset the start line and change the windward mark from “E” to “D.”

The wind settled back to 260 degrees to 270 degrees and final race used “E” as the windward mark.

Winds averaged seven knots on slightly lumpier seas but sunnier skies

The B29, Klexy, skippered by SBYRC member, Ed Jenkins won four out of five races in the PHRF A fleet, with Jerry Haney’s J/80, Joyride, winning race two by four seconds.

Gray Marshall’s, Rocket 22, Diavola, and Bryce Benjamin’s J/109, Persistence, traded seconds and thirds with Diavola earning the silver honors.

John Staff and his crew aboard a Cheetah 30, Wildcat, won all five races in the sportboat class with Jerome Sammarcelli’s new Chupacabra a consistent second.

In PHRF B, the J/24 team of Horn and Taylor swept the series with five bullets, with Donna Polk’s Eggemoggin and Robert Harford’s Kryptonite trading seconds and thirds.

Back on the water was another J/24, Slippery When Wet, helmed by Marina del Rey newcomer, Pierson Jacquelin, whose practiced crew showed great corinthian spirit.

In the Cal20 fleet, longtime rivals Bill Pistey and Wynn Hammer battled it out, with Pistey’s Poquito grabbing four out of five bullets.

Greg Hoffman, in a Martin 242, Patience, had taken a first and a second place in the regatta and was leading the fleet to the windward mark in the third race when he lost focus.

The details of that event are covered on page 29.

The Martin fleet elected to give Hoffman the win and the rest of the fleet took last place scores in the third race.

Jim Durden, helming ZIP, won the second, fourth and fifth go-rounds.

While Durden won the series in points, he and the fleet gave first place honors to Hoffman.

In third place for the series was Mark Sands, Martin 242 fleet captain, aboard Sandbox.

Series finalists are:

PHRF A Fleet

— 1st place, Ed Jenkins, Klexy, B29;

— 2nd place, Gray Marshall, Diavola, Rocket 22; and

— 3rd place, Bryce Benjamin, Persistence, J/109.

PHRF B Fleet

— 1st place, Taylor/Horn, Take Five, J/24;

— 2nd place, Robert Harford, Kryptonite, Fun23; and

— 3rd place, Donna Polk, Eggemoggin, J30.


— 1st place, John Staff, Wildcat, Cheeta 30;

— 2nd place, Jerome Sammarcelli, Chupacabra, Martin243; and

— 3rd place, Gary Kamins, Fired Up, Melges 24.


— 1st place, Greg Hoffman, Patience;

— 2nd place, Jim Durden Zip; and

— 3rd place, Mark Sands Sandbox.

CAL 20

— 1st place, Bill Pistey, Poquito;

— 2nd place, Wynn Hammer, Seascape; and

— 3rd place, Mark Tilford, Algae.

Principal race officers were Bob Kellock on Saturday and Stu Coleman on Sunday.

Doghouse, a Newport 33 captained by staff commodore Terry Stringfellow, was the committee boat, while Tom Estlow and his Boston whaler on Saturday and Gary Speck and his C-Dory on Sunday were mark-set boats.

The race committee also consisted of Chris Rulla, Shari Landon, and Jerry Magnussen.

Series winners were announced by race chair Stu Coleman at the South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club clubhouse, with trophies presented by commodore Sandra Bartiromo.

Commemorative satin-etched beer glasses awarded to the top three finishers in each class were quickly put to use by the racers for their intended purpose.

Sunday, April 22nd, will see SCCYC host the Lido 14 Fleet 2 Invitational and District 1 Championship in the sailing zone of the Marina del Rey exit channel.

The Lido 14 fleet has grown to 15 boats in Marina Del Rey throught the revitalization of Fleet 2 and the support of South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club and the Lido 14 class organization.

The Lido 14 will be the second-largest fleet after the Laser in the upcoming California Yacht Club Sunstroke Series held on Thursday nights.