Miracle Evans, a 17-year-old student at Palisades Charter High School, has been honored as the 2010 Youth of the Year for the Boys & Girls Club of Venice.

Evans was selected over two other finalists Ruby Lopez and Milana Burdette of Venice High School during a ceremony presented by Microsoft in Culver City February 26th. Last year’s winner, Jose Guerrero, is a junior at Culver City High School.

“We are extremely proud and encouraged by the commitment to the community by our three finalists,” said the club’s Executive Director Erikk Aldridge. “The finalists, along with our past youth of the year honorees, prove that the value of a club’s membership is immeasurable.”

Evans and each Boys & Girls Club of Venice finalist were awarded college scholarships totaling over $4,000 courtesy of the Venice-Marina Rotary Club, Sonrise Westside Church and Playa Vista.

Being named Youth of the Year is the highest honor that a Boys & Girls Club member can receive. The title recognizes outstanding contributions to a member’s family, school, community and Boys & Girls Club. The award program was founded over 60 years ago through the generosity of the Reader’s Digest Foundation.

This year’s judges were Ken Morgan; Dena Stitt of FIDM; Raul Fernandez, principal of Mark Twain Middle School; and Julie Henley of Demand Media.

The club also recognized two community leaders at the event. The 2010 Community Leader Award recipients were board member Michael Moskowitz, vice president of Business Development for DriverSide, and The Argonaut newspaper.

The recipient of the Youth of the Year award will compete against other Boys & Girls Club members for the California Youth of the Year title and a $1,000 scholarship. The state winner will go on to compete for the title of Pacific Regional Youth of the Year and a $10,000 scholarship.

The five regional winners will then travel to Washington, D.C., in September to compete for the title of Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s National Youth of the Year. The National Youth of the Year receives an additional $15,000 college scholarship and is installed by the President in an Oval Office ceremony.