Carl Radusch won the Commodore’s First to Finish Trophy awarded to the first PHRF (Performance Handicap Racing Fleet) monohull to finish the annual Marina del Rey to San Diego race over the July 4th weekend

Radusch is commodore of South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club (SCCYC) and sailed Sparta to the trophy.

The event was the 38th Marina del Rey to San Diego Race co-sponsored by the Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club (SMWYC) of Marina del Rey and Southwestern Yacht Club (SYC) of San Diego.

This year’s event was dubbed “Survive the Night” and began off the Marina Saturday, July 2nd, and finished in San Diego Sunday, July 3rd.

In 38 years of sailing this event — usually around the July 4th holiday — the course has only received one addition.

Therefore, it is a pretty easy down hill run, provided the winds cooperate.

This addition is known as the “dash to the mark” and was in 1997.

PHRF racers leave the start line and dash to the windward mark, DD. For the first in each class, a trophy is presented.

This year, 13 PHRF boats departed the start line and in approximately 22 minutes three had rounded the mark and headed south off Palos Verdes with very decent breezes behind them.

The balance of the three PHRF classes completed the leg, turned south and followed.

Two of the first three boats took first in their classes when the race was over handicaps were calculated.

Once the PHRF boats left the startline, three Cruiser classes and one ORCA (Ocean Racing Catamaran Assocation) were given their sequences by the Race Committee on Ghost II, skippered by principal race Officer Al Berg.

With seven-to-ten knots of breeze, King Harbor was just about an hour sail for this group of 20 boats.

The sailing in daylight was in fairly consistent breeze and good time was made to the R-10 buoy.

The sun began to set and breezes for the most part lightened up.

However, it was reported that some sailors found wind and some found dead air and the distance between the two types of wind was only about two to three miles.

For the three cruising classes, motoring is allowed for a minimum of three hours and not to exceed six hours.

All boats are rated based on the minimum motoring time and corrections are made for those that exceed the three hour minimum.

The majority of the participants used the three hours. However, a few did take the penalty to gain on the absence of wind.

By 7:30 p.m. Sunday, July 3rd, all boats had arrived at the Southwestern Yacht Club finish line and it was time to join the party for the racers.

Trophy presentations took place Monday, July 4th, with race chairman Orlando Duran acting as master of ceremonies.

SMWYC commodore Peter Glick and SYC commodore Bill Fallon made the presentations.

Pusser’s Rum, corporate sponsor of this event, provided trophies for the First to Finish in all classes.


PHRF A: first place, Sparta, Carl Radusch, SCCYC;

PHRF B: first place, Speedplay, Eric Axford, San Diego Yacht Club (SDYC).

PHRF C: first place, Zonie, Al Lehman and Steve Quant, Arizona Yacht Club (AzYC), first place.

Cruisers Non Spinnaker: first place, Bellezza, Ray Durand, Venture MacGregor Fleet;

Cruiser Spinnaker A: first place, Green Dragon, Gary Green, South Bay Yacht Racing Club (SBYRC);

Cruiser Spinnaker B: first place, Island Time, Jim Douglas, AzYC; and

ORCA: first place, Monsoon, Chuck Spears, AzYC.

Complete results can be found at