The Santa Monica College (SMC) board of trustees created a President Search Committee and appointed 16 members to the committee Monday, May 9th.

The committee’s first meeting is Tuesday, May 24th.

Members will assist the college in the recruitment of a new president and recommend three to five president candidates to the trustees board for final selection.

Santa Monica College is looking for a successor to Piedad Robertson, who retired this year to accept the chief executive position at the Denver-based Education Commission of the States. Tom Donner is serving as interim president through the end of the year.

Appointed to the 16-member committee, representing the college’s internal and external constituency groups, were:

n three Santa Monica College faculty members on a joint recommendation from the college’s Academic Senate and Faculty Association:

Academic Senate president Leslie Kawaguchi, Academic Senate president-elect Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein, and Faculty Association president Lantz Simpson;

n three Santa Monica College classified employees:

Classified School Employees Association Chapter 36 president Giovanni Vela, payroll specialist Leroy Lauer, and media services technician Jim Serikawa;

n three Santa Monica College students:

Associated Students director of academic services and vice president-elect Sadia Afolabi, Mark Abraham, and Erica Miles;

n three Santa Monica College managers:

Learning Resources dean Mona Martin, director of operations Jeffery Peterson, and Enrollment Services dean Teresita Rodriguez; and

n four members of the Santa Monica and Malibu communities:

Center for Healthy Aging executive director Monika White, Santa Monica former mayor Judy Abdo, physician Matt Dinolfo, and Malibu City Council member Sharon Barovsky.