Three Congressional representatives serving local districts have received their committee assignments and leadership posts for the new 110th Congress, which convened Thursday, January 4th.

Congresswoman Jane Harman formally returns to the Energy and Commerce Committee after a four-year absence, during which she served as ranking member of the House Intelligence Committee.

She rejoins the committee’s Telecommunications & the Internet Subcommittee and joins for the first time the Energy and Air Quality Subcommittee.

The Telecommunications and the Internet Subcommittee oversees broadcast television and cable franchise reform, FCC issues and broadband deployment.

The Energy and Air Quality Subcommittee’s jurisdiction includes clean air policy and alternative energy initiatives.

“Energy and Commerce is a very forward-thinking committee,” Harman said. “Its core issues are at the forefront of technology and society, from addressing changes in communications technology to tackling global warming to building energy independence.

“The two subcommittees I will serve on oversee issues important to my district, the economic strength of the country, national security and energy independence.”

Harman says she pledges to make entertainment and broadcast issues, first responder interoperability and energy independence her top priorities.

Congresswoman Maxine Waters has been appointed chief deputy whip for the majority Democratic Party and will also chair the Committee on Financial Services’ Housing and Community Opportunity Subcommittee.

“As chair of this committee, I will focus on creating housing for low-to-moderate-income persons,” Waters said. “To achieve this goal, I will introduce legislation to create a National Housing Trust Fund as well as legislation that will make $500 million in housing assistance funds available from Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

“Also, I will work to increase Community Development Block Grant funding to our cities for more affordable housing and economic development.

“Additionally, we will attack the predatory lending practices of the financial services industry and put in place new regulations to prevent rising foreclosures across the nation,” Waters said.

Congressman Henry Waxman was officially elected chairman of the Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

Waxman has proposed that the committee establish five subcommittees — National Security and International Relations; Domestic Policy; Federal Workforce, Post Office, and the District of Columbia; Government Management, Organization, and Procurement; and Information Policy, Census, and National Archives.

“My goal is to consolidate the jurisdictions of some of the subcommittees so that the jurisdiction of each subcommittee will have broad appeal and will engage the attention of the subcommittee members,” Waxman said.

The jurisdiction of the Domestic Policy Subcommittee would include jurisdiction on the Office of National Drug Control Policy.

The jurisdiction of the Federal Workforce, Post Office, and the District of Columbia Subcommittee would include jurisdiction on holidays and celebrations.

The Government Management, Organization, and Procurement Subcommittee would include jurisdiction on property and intergovernmental relations.