Former Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti won his bid to become the city’s next mayor May 21, defeating former council colleague Wendy Greuel by a decisive margin.
Garcetti, 42, who has served three terms on the City Council, received 181,995 votes, or 53.9 percent with 100 percent of precincts reporting. He will succeed Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa July 1.
Greuel, the city controller and former councilwoman who was seeking to become the city’s first female mayor, garnered 155,497 votes, or 46.1 percent, according to unofficial results.
Despite elections for mayor, controller, city attorney and several council seats, predictions for a low turnout proved accurate, as approximately 19.2 percent of registered city voters went to the polls.
“Eric is a true leader who I trust to guide our city into its bright future. I know I am leaving Los Angeles in good hands,” said Villaraigosa, who did not endorse either candidate. “I look forward to working with Eric and his team over the next month for a seamless transition so that we can keep Los Angeles moving in the right direction.
“I also want to thank Wendy Greuel for her commitment to the people of Los Angeles and admire her for being willing to put her name on the ballot.  Wendy, like Eric, is a dedicated public servant who I’ve worked with for many years. She has devoted her career to making our city a better place, and I know she’ll continue to do so in the future.”
The two mayoral candidates had been locked in hard-fought campaigns, with some polls showing a virtual dead heat in the waning days, and at least one poll showing Garcetti holding a 7 percent lead.
Garcetti, who served as council president for six years, won the support of many residents in Westchester and Playa del Rey due to his opposition to a plan to move the northernmost runway at Los Angeles International Airport, while Greuel had not indicated a direct position on the north airfield proposal.
In the race for city attorney, incumbent Carmen Trutanich was handily defeated in his bid for a second term by challenger Mike Feuer, 62.1 percent to 37.9 percent.
Councilman Dennis Zine lost his bid for city controller against Ron Galperin, 56.2 percent to 43.8 percent.
Cindy Montanez was the only woman to win citywide office with her victory in the Sixth Council District race, where she received 43.5 percent of votes.
The races for Council Districts 1, 9 and 13 were won by Gilbert Cedillo, Curren Price and Mitch O’Farrell, respectively.