Race Chair

The Home Port Regatta was well attended this year, with 22 boats entering the race Saturday, November 13th.

This regatta is designed to introduce sailors to the sport of sailboat racing and to the Marina del Rey yacht clubs. Because of this, no entry fee was charged and the skippers were not required to be a member of a yacht club.

This event provides a great opportunity for new sailors and regular crew who do not skipper to get some time at the helm in a friendly and fun racing environment.

Saturday’s race was preceded by two seminars during the week to teach racing basics and the important role that yacht clubs have in sponsoring and running races.

The seminars were given by local sailing experts:

n South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club vice commodore Carl Radusch;

n Association of Santa Monica Bay Yacht Clubs rear commodore John Staff;

n Bob Kellock; and

n Marylyn Hoenemeyer.

More than 20 people attended each seminar.

The 22-boat field was divided equally into two classes: spinnaker and non-spinnaker classes.

The race was scheduled to start at noon Saturday, but there was a 20-minute delay waiting for the wind direction to settle down.

The wind finally settled and held steady for the rest of the day from 210 degrees, which made B Mark the windward mark.

Although the wind direction held, the winds were light. The first race had five-knot winds while the second race had a little brisker eight-knot winds.

Coaches rode along on a few of the racing boats to offer help and suggestions. Coaches were George Biddle, Bruce Fleck and Fran Weber-Melville.

Additionally, a powerboat roamed the course with coach Tom O’Connor to offer advice from afar. All boats finished by 3:30 p.m. and were headed to the clubhouse for a barbecue and trophy presentations.

Race results can be found at www.sccyc.org

South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club (SCCYC) hosted this year’s events on behalf of the Association of Santa Monica Bay Yacht Clubs (ASMBYC).

South Bay Yacht Racing Club and Fairwinds Yacht Club will be hosting the event next year.

The winners for each class, which will be posted on the Darien Murray Perpetual Trophy, will be announced at a later date, once the novice skipper qualifications are confirmed.