The LAX Coastal Area Chamber of Commerce recognized the contributions of teachers from local schools during the 25th annual Teacher Eddy Awards Dinner Tuesday, April 8th.

The event — sponsored by the Hilton Los Angeles Airport Hotel, Playa Vista, Los Angeles World Airports, Westchester Rotary Club, Playa Sunrise Rotary Club, Travelodge Hotel at LAX and William H. Hannon Foundation — was held at the Hilton Los Angeles Airport on Century Boulevard in Westchester.

The teacher honorees, chosen by their individual schools, were recognized from the elementary school through university level for their efforts in educating area youths.

“The chamber is proud to support education in our community,” said Christina Davis, chamber president and chief executive officer. “Teachers seldom get the recognition they deserve. This event is our opportunity to thank them for the work they do each and every day in educating our youth and future workforce.”

Each teacher honoree received a crystal Eddy Award, made possible through a donation from Playa Vista. In addition, teachers and principals were eligible for a series of prizes at the event.

This year’s Teacher Eddy honorees and their schools included:

— Sheila Alvarez, Cowan Elementary;

— Roger Graham, Emerson Adult School;

— Shailendra Waters Scott, Kentwood Elementary;

— Tina Choe, Loyola Marymount University;

— Judith Nunez and Eugene Blunt, Loyola Village Elementary;

— Rhoda Coleman, Open Magnet Charter School;

— Wesley Nakashima and Jennifer Dealist, Orville Wright Middle School;

— Christian Mounger, Otis College of Art and Design;

— Sue Edwards, Paseo del Rey Elementary;

— Downa Takeshima, Playa del Rey Elementary;

— Kathy Krekeler, St. Anastasia School;

— Matthew Mallen and Sr. Pegeen Connolly, St. Bernard High School;

— Mauricio Ortega, St. Jerome School;

— Kristen Herber, Visitation School;

— Nancy Berkeland and Mary Deason, Westchester Lutheran;

— Teri Sato, Westport Heights Elementary;

— Mary Ann Rose and Richard Nelsen, Westchester High School; and

— Holland Filliettaz, Westside Neighborhood School.