The Loyola Marymount University (LMU) women’s swim team captured its first Pacific Collegiate Swim Conference (PCSC) Championship Saturday, February 16th, with 1,212 total points, defeating its nearest opponent, Pepperdine University, by 46 points.

After taking the conference crown in the 500-meter freestyle earlier at the championships, LMU swimmer Rebecca Plume finished second in the 1,650- meter freestyle. Her time of 17:16.14 broke the previous LMU record for that event, set by Julia Hall last season at 18:01.78.

LMU swimmer Kristen Lutjen managed a top-five finish in the 200-meter backstroke, earning

fifth place with a time of 2:10.42.

Alicia Witter became the third LMU Lion to claim an individual conference title, winning the 100-meter freestyle in a time of 51.8.

The Lions performed well in the freestyle event and also finished strong in the 200-meter butterfly, posting swimmers in the third, fourth, eighth and 15th positions.

Faced with the 400-meter freestyle relay to end the meet, the team of Megan Sawelson, Carolyn Pasque, Alex Wike and Alicia Witter claimed third place with a time of 3:32.23 to seal the PCSC title for LMU.