Voters in the City of Los Angeles will go to the polls Tuesday, March 8th, in a city primary election.

Polls will be open between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Los Angeles voters will be asked to vote for a mayor, city attorney and controller.

Voters in the 11th City Council District will vote for a council member.

In each office, if a candidate fails to receive 50 percent plus one vote of votes cast in that office, a runoff between the top two vote-getters will be conducted Tuesday, May 17th.

Los Angeles voters will also be asked to vote for a member of the Los Angeles Unified School District and three Los Angeles Community College District trustees.

Two city measures are also on the ballot.


Los Angeles City Measure 1 asks voters whether the city charter should be amended to authorize the Los Angeles City Council to include new port police in the same pension plan as new members of the Los Angeles Police Department and to give current port police the choice of joining that plan or staying in their current retirement plan with all port police pension costs continuing to be paid by the City Harbor Department.

Los Angeles Measure 2 asks whether the city charter should be amended to allow retired police officers and firefighters to return to active duty by terminating their pensions and being rehired; allow the maximum amount of health subsidies for retirees and beneficiaries of the plan to be set by ordinance; and allow the city to pay part of employee contribution to the pension plan as agreed in labor negotiations.


Twelve candidates are seeking a four-year term as mayor, which will begin Friday, July 1st:

– Wendy Lyons, a meatpacker;

– Antonio R. Villaraigosa, Los Angeles city councilman;

– Walter Moore, business trial lawyer;

– Addie M. Miller, senior citizen advocate;

– Richard AlarcÛn, state senator;

– Martin Luther King Aubrey, Sr., state worker;

– Bruce Harry Darian, businessperson;

– Ted Crisell, newspaper publisher;

– Bill Wyatt, businessman;

– Bob Hertzberg, attorney and businessman;

– James Kenneth Hahn, mayor; and

– Bernard C. Parks, Los Angeles city councilman and retired police chief.


Incumbent Rocky Delgadillo is unopposed for another four-year term as city attorney.


There are two candidates for city controller:

– Mervin Leon Evans, an author and management consultant; and

– Laura N. Chick, Los Angeles city controller.



Three candidates are seeking the local Los Angeles City Council 11th District seat:

– Flora Gil Krisiloff, a former area planning commissioner;

– Bill Rosendahl, a former university professor and journalist;

-Angela J. Reddock, an attorney and city commissioner.


Marlene Canter is unopposed for another four-year term as local Fourth District member of the Los Angeles Unified School District board of education.


Voters will be asked to select three Los Angeles Community College District trustees.

In Office #2, incumbent Michael D. Waxman is unopposed.

In Office #4, there are two candidates:

Kelly Candaele, incumbent board of trustees member; and

– Mark Gonzaga, a teacher, producer and environmentalist.

In Office #6, there are three candidates:

– Maria Grunwald-Agazaryan, an education advocate;

-Gerald Wayne Perttula, a curriculum specialist; and

– Nancy Pearlman, an incumbent board of trustees member.