Nat Trives, of New Visions Foundation, known as “A Man of Many Hats,” was installed as the Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce 2004 chairman of the board by outgoing chairman Dr. Mike Gruning of Dr. Gruning Eye Care, Thursday, June 10th, at the Marina del Rey Marriott Hotel.

Trives installed new and existing chamber board members.

The new members are:

Laverne Davis (Verizon;

Denny Fitzpatrick (Beverly Hilton Hotel);

Rick Lopez (Metro Goldwyn Mayer);

James Luck (Los Angeles Orthopaedic Hospital); and

Beverly Wagner-Menzies (US Bank).

The chief financial officer is John McIntire (Encino State Bank), and two new vice chairmen are Mary Ann Powell (Pacific Park on the Pier), and Laurel Rosen (The Lobster).

Kathryn Dodson, current president and CEO of the chamber, opened the installation ceremony with a welcome to new members and the entire chamber.

Master of ceremonies Jean McNeil Wyner offered a “champagne toast and tip of the hat to the retiring board members for their fine work on behalf of the business community.”

President-elect is Eddie Gueborian (Readers Fine Jewelers).

Current board members include:

Tom Alesio (Room With a View, Inc.);

Roy Almeida (First Federal Bank of California);

Karl Buchta (Fairmont Miramar Hotel);

William Crookston (WHC Associates);

Aurelia Freeman (SBC);

Bob Gabriel (Bob Gabriel Co. Insurance);

Michael Guerin (Santa Monica Place);

Bashir Kadri (Sanford/Papermate);

Iao Katagari (RAND);

Jeff King (I Cuigini and Ocean Avenue Seafood);

David Lackman (Library Alehouse);

Bruce Lamoreux (Saint John’s Health Center);

Gary Lustgarten (Gevity);

Jean McNeil Wyner (Santa Monica-UCLA Medical Center);

Rose Nordbrock (Bolton& Co.);

Sharon O’Rourke (The Gas Company);

Mark A. Olson (Southern California Edison);

Sig Ortloff (Le Merigot Beach Hotel and Spa);

Graham R. Pope, CPA (Pope and Associates);

Bill Rinker (Toyota Santa Monica);

Piedad Robertson (Santa Monica College);

John Thacker (Loews Beach Hotel);

Monica Witt (Jeffer, Mangels, Butler & Marmano.

The evening began with a welcome from chamber president and CEO Kathryn Dodson, followed by Jean McNeil Wyner.

The Roy E. Naylor Lifetime Achievement Award and Chairman’s Award was presented to McNeil Wyner by Gruning.

“Jean is an extraordinary human being who has always given herself to any group she’s associated with. Her dedication to a variety of philanthropic organizations is legendary and she brightens people’s lives daily,” said Dr. Gruning.

Board of Directors Recognition was given to outgoing chairman Gruning for his dedication to the community.

Chairman’s awardees were Jim Keyes (Muselli Commercial Realtors);

Chamber vice chairman Tom Larmore (firm of Chris Harding, Ken Kutcher and Kevin Kozal); and Anne Reghi Saldo (an acupuncturist who also provides Chinese herbal medicine services in private practice).

Recognition for contributions to the community was given to Santa Monica College and the Santa Monica Convention and Visitor’s Bureau.

A buffet dinner, a silent auction, and entertainment and raffle results followed the installation and award ceremonies.