Marina Aquatic Center Junior Rowing had 14 boats advance to the finals, with four winning medals and three qualifying as national contenders at USRowing’s Southwest Junior Championships at Lake Natoma in Sacramento Saturday and Sunday, May 10th and 11th.

The Marina Aquatic Center girls team earned three silver medals at the event and two of the crews earned a trip to Cincinnati for the USRowing annual Youth National Championships.

Extending its streak to four consecutive years, the Marina team qualified the girls quadruple sculls for the national championships with its silver-medal finish behind the team from Long Beach Junior Crew.

Marina varsity silver medallists in the “quad” were Anna Rasmussen in the stroke seat, Katie O’Hanlon in three seat, Ariana Chehrazi in two seat, and Lindsay Pollock steering the coxless boat from the bow.

Rasmussen and O’Hanlon followed the event with a second silver medal in the double sculls just two hours later, qualifying that boat for nationals as well.

The girls won their final silver medal in the junior varsity four, under the command of coxswain Ilana Ostrin.

The “JV4” crew included Grace Riccardi, Katy Pickett, Meghan Costopolous, and Allegra Greenland. The crew entered the final 250 meters of the 2,000-meter race solidly in third, but sprinted past the crew from the Los Gatos Rowing Club to take the silver medal.

Taking the first step in defending the national championship it won last June, the Marina boys lightweight four crew won a bronze medal, adding another national bid to the weekend’s haul.

The Marina boys crew held off a late charge by San Francisco’s Pacific Rowing Club to clinch the bronze.

The crew of coxswain Hannah Shaw consisted of Henry Perazzelli in stroke seat, Xavier Keyser in three, Adrian Wieshofer in two, and Wyatt Bridges in the bow.

The national qualifying crews will head for Cincinnati in mid-June to compete against the best junior rowers in the U.S.

“We had a terrific weekend all around and we’re delighted to be going back to Cincinnati for the sixth consecutive year,” head coach Zohar Abramovitz said.