19 boats participated

in SCCYC Outlook Race

The South Coast Corinthian Yacht Club (SCCYC) 69th Outlook Trophy Race was a rejuvenated success Saturday, August 13th.

Nineteen participants in monohull and multihull boats 20 feet and under greeted a revitalized Outlook Trophy Ocean race.

SCCYC presents this event annually and in past years a decline in participation led to additional energy and enthusiasm being put into it this year by event chair Tracey Kenney.

The combined efforts and participation of San Fernando Valley Yacht Club, Fairwind Yacht Club and South Coast Yacht Club attracted 19 boats, divided into three classes.

Gene Broussard and crew, on a Nacra 5.7 multihull from South Bay Yacht Racing Club, started last in the inverted start format, and when the course was shortened, due to lack of breeze, passed everyone to win first overall and first in multihulls.

Francisco and crew from California Yacht Club, sailing their Vanguard 15, passed the rest and took second overall and first in monohulls.

Robert Spieler, SCCYC Lido 14 fleet captain, led three Lido 14s that crossed the finish line within 20 seconds of each other.

Their course of 9.4 miles took two hours, 40 minutes to complete.

Spieler took first in the Lido 14 class, second in monohull design and third overall.

Event chair Tracey Kenney took second in the Lido class and third place went to Doug Russell.

Fairwind Yacht Club was represented by a total of seven entries, of which five were Hobie Waves.

This design is a single-man catamaran and was won by Mike Leneman.

Lloyd Lewins scored second and Jeffrey Weighly took third place.

San Fernando Valley Yacht Club presented with a class of four Holder 20s.

This design is for boats 20 feet, four inches, with a retractable daggerboard. They arrived by trailer from their dry storage locations.

“Glenn Van Heel took first in class, by less than two minutes, after participating in the tightest start of the classes, with four boats past the starting line within ten seconds of their start time” according to principal race officer Bob Kellock.

Nigel Brownett was second and Kyra Sweda placed third.

The race began outside the breakwater and due to an exceptionally light breeze the start was postponed until 12:55 p.m.

However, the winds quickly built and soon they had increased from seven to about 12 knots, adding two-to-three-foot waves that presented an almost “Iron Man” condition.

“As the 4 p.m. cutoff time approached, the race committee asked the course boat, C-Scrape, a 23-foot C Dory owned and operated by Gary Speck, to shorten the course as the chase boat Christine, a 26-foot Sun Chaser, owned and operated by SCCYC vice commodore Sandy Bartiromo, went to the aid of a boat taking on water in the developing sea condition,” Kellock said.

As a fitting climax to the finish, the race committee noted that the Nacra 5.7 flew off a wave at the finish pin.

The jubilant crew proceeded to celebrate its victory by capsizing the boat.

This was a spectacular sight, even more than their start, which taken at “full speed ahead,” was just seven seconds after their starting time.

All returned to SCCYC, where all boats were hauled out and returned to their trailers. With chores completed, the guests proceeded to enjoy the barbecue hospitality and trophy presentation. Commodore Carl Radusch and Kellock oversaw the ceremony.

Race committee chair Jim Doherty, who just returned from Trans-Pac, was on hand to provide his boat Camelot IV as race committee boat and host Kellock, and his able crew.