The 37th annual Marina del Rey to San Diego yacht race is set to begin at 11 a.m. Saturday, July 3rd, in Santa Monica Bay off Marina del Rey.

The annual event is co-sponsored by the Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club and Southwestern Yacht Club of San Diego.

The Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club traditionally hosts the race “send-off” and the Southwestern Yacht Club hosts “welcome” events in San Diego for participants.

Race officials expect more boats to be in the race this weekend than showed up at the start line last year.

The two sponsoring yacht clubs present “Down the Coast” trophies to both PHRF (Performance Handicap Racing Fleet) and Cruisers Classes in the Marina del Rey to San Diego Race.

A pre-race outdoor barbecue is planned from 6 to 8 p.m. Friday, July 2nd, at Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club, 13589 Mindanao Way, Marina del Rey. There will be dancing and entertainment until 10 p.m. The event is open to the public, but reservations are required at (310) 827-7692.

Prior to the race, at 7:30 a.m. Saturday morning, David Phelps will head a crew from the International Order of the Blue Gavel — a group of former yacht club commodores — who will prepare a breakfast of pancakes, sausage, juice and coffee for the racers and others who show up at the yacht club. The price is $5.


TO MARINA — The 18th annual Channel Islands to Marina del Rey sailboat race was run Friday, June 25th.

Co-sponsored by Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club and Channel Islands Yacht Club, the race is designed, in part, to position boats that enter the Marina del Rey to San Diego Race the following week.

Participants in the Channel Islands race also are included in the Yacht Racing Union of Southern California Ocean Racing Championship series competition.

Eighteen boats were at the Channel Islands Race start, separated into three classes.

PHRF class had eight entries, including Bay Wolf, out of Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club, a Santa Cruz 50 owned and skippered by Kirk Wilson, and the winning XS, a Mull 30 owned and skippered by John Thawley.

The Cruz-S Class had three entries, including two from Marina del Rey — Andrew Tsao on Wildcat and Al Freedman on Freedom Too.

The Cruz-NS Class had three entries from Marina del Rey — Orlando and Linda Duran on cuba libre 2, Vic Smith on the winner, Maine Squeeze, from Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club, and Gerald Sobel on his Cal 24, Shpritz, from Women’s Sailing Association of Santa Monica Bay.

One Marina boat left its slip at 2 a.m. and another at 5 a.m. in order to reach the Channel Islands Race start on time.

The wind was light at the race start and the committee boat had challenges in getting the second start off properly. However, with the start accomplished, the boats headed in different directions to Marina del Rey.

PHRF class boats went to Anacapa Island on their 62-nautical-mile course, while Cruising Class entries took Platform Gina to port and headed for the Marina, south on a 45-nautical-mile course.

Eight dropped out of the event and finishing times ranged between midnight and 4:30 a.m. Sunday, June 27th. The finishers were greeted with a breakfast served by Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club vice commodore Peter Glick, Jr., staff commodore Don Stearns and race committee chairman David Osborn, who presented trophies.

Bay Wolf was both first to finish on elapsed time and first to finish on corrected time.

Channel Islands Yacht Club won a trophy for largest number of participants, although only one of the club’s boats completed the course and finished third in its class.

Results included:

PHRF: 1. Bay Wolf; 2. Patriot, Jerry Montgomery;

Cruz-S: Wildcat, Andrew Tsao;

Cruz-NS: 1. Linda Richards, cuba libre 2; 2. Maine Squeeze, Vic Smith.