Sixteen Santa Monica College students have been named 2010-11 Student Athletes of the Year, a recognition for scholastic achievement as well as athletic talent and persistence.

Awards to the diverse group of students were presented May 19 at the annual awards breakfast sponsored by the SMC General Advisory Board.

The students honored in each sport and their respective coaches include:

Samantha Bozek – women’s softball, coach Char Wilson;

Dayne Contarsy – men’s water polo, coach Erik Matheson;

Sean Foley – men’s volleyball, coach John Mayer;

Melvin A. Guerrero – men’s track and field, coach Larry Silva;

Jennifer Hager – women’s soccer, coach: Aaron Benditson;

Brian Hawthorne – football, coach Gifford Lindheim;

Spencer Hirahara – men’s cross country, coach Eric Barron;

Kelsey Keil – women’s volleyball, coach Nicole Ryan;

MacKenzie Shea Lee – women’s cross country, coach Eric Barron;

Michelle Liu – women’s swimming, coach Steve Contarsy;

Jeff Lum – men’s swimming, coach Steve Contarsy;

Kailey Makuta – women’s water polo, coach Steve Contarsy;

Katerina Mozolyuk – women’s tennis, coach Richard Goldenson;

Haley Newell – women’s basketball, coach Lydia Strong;

Ayana Robinson – women’s track and field, coach Eric Barron; and

DeShawn Stephens – men’s basketball, coach Jerome Jenkins.