Seventeen Santa Monica College (SMC) students have been named 2010-11 Student Athletes of the Year for displaying scholastic achievement as well as athletic prowess and accomplishment.

The students — some of whom have overcome personal obstacles and also come from various countries — will receive their awards at the annual awards breakfast sponsored by the SMC General Advisory Board, a community support group, at 7:30 a.m. Thursday, May 20th in the SMC Pavilion, 1900 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica.

The students honored in each sport and their coaches are:

Rue Critchfield, men’s basketball, coach Jerome Jenkins;

Chantel Diaz, women’s basketball, coach Lydia Strong;

Kathryn McNally, women’s volleyball, coach Nicole Ryan;

Mark Schuermann, men’s volleyball, coach John Mayer;

Chase Fletcher, football, coach Gifford Lindheim;

Dawn Wyatt, women’s track and field, coach Eric Barron;

Nick Alvarez, men’s cross country, coach Barron;

Karissa Gonzalez, women’s cross country, coach Barron;

Caitlin Rutherford, women’s soccer, coach Aaron Benditson;

Michelle Fenn-Catcher, women’s softball, coach Michelle Haines;

Pedro Caldas, men’s swimming, coach Steve Contarsy;

Sara Zandihn, women’s swimming, coach Contarsy;

Chelsea Kemp, women’s water polo, coach Contarsy;

Anastasia Eliseeva and Tiana Lauritzen, women’s tennis, coach Richard Goldenson;

Dayne Contarsy, men’s water polo, coach Erik Matheson; and

Camden Taylor, men’s track and field, coach Larry Silva.