The Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District will honor 13 teachers at 5:15 p.m. Thursday, February 2nd, at a regularly scheduled board of education meeting at the school district office, 1651 16th St., Santa Monica.

Nine teachers will be recognized for achieving National Board Certification and four teachers will be awarded Teachers of the Year.

Teachers with national certification are:

– Amy Bouse, Santa Monica High School;

– Renata Gusmao-Garcia, John Muir Elementary School;

n Sharon Hart, Lincoln Middle School;

– Mary Hendra, Santa Monica High School;

-Rebecca Johnson, Grant Elementary School;

– Chon Lee, Lincoln Middle School;

– Chris Rhodes, on leave from Santa Monica High School;

-Erica Ross, Webster Elementary School; and

– Steve Rupprecht, Santa Monica High School.

National certification is the highest credential in the teaching profession.

The certification process is voluntary and was established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Teachers spend more than one year in performance-based assessment and demonstrate how their activities inside and outside the classroom improve student achievement to get the certification.

“The National Board Certification process is the single best professional development opportunity available,” said Santa-Malibu school district superintendent John Deasy.

“This is a nationally benchmarked standard of excellence in teaching and this process has changed the culture of the profession more than anything else,” he said.

Santa Monica-Malibu now has 54 teachers with national certification.

In California, 298 teachers achieved national certification for the 2004-2005 school year, bringing the number of teachers in the state with the certification up to 3,379. The state ranks fourth in the nation in the number of teachers with national certification.

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is a nonprofit, nongovernment organization managed by a board of directors, the majority of whom are classroom teachers.

Honored as Teachers of the Year are:

-Darci Braverman, Lincoln Middle School;

– Greg Dileo, Lincoln Middle School;

– Elizabeth Martinez, Edison Elementary School; and

– Rozita Moazzea, Lincoln Middle School.

The district will host a reception to honor the 13 teachers in the District Office Testing Room.