Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk Dean Logan is reminding residents of the 28th state Senate District, which encompasses The Argonaut coverage area, that the date of the special primary election is Feb. 15.

The primary election will be held to elect a candidate to fill the vacancy in the 28th state Senate District for the unexpired term ending Nov. 30, 2014.

Incumbent Jenny Oropeza was declared the winner for the 28th state Senate seat in the Nov. 2 general election. However, the seat was declared vacant due to her death on Oct. 20.

The primary candidates include Democrats Ted Lieu and Kevin Thomas McGurk, Republicans Jeffrey Fortini, Martha Flores Gibson, Bob Valentine and James Thompson, and nonpartisan candidates Mark Lipman and Michael Chamness.

If no candidate receives a majority of the vote in the primary election, the top two vote getters in the election will compete in a special general election runoff on April 19.

In addition, Los Angeles County will be among the first counties in California to conduct an election under the new “top-two” primary system, according to the registrar. The “top-two” primary election system has replaced partisan primaries for all congressional, statewide and state legislative elections.

Under the new primary system approved by voters that took effect Jan. 1, all candidates regardless of party will appear on a single ballot.

Voters may choose to vote for any candidate on the ballot. This means that two candidates of the same party may be nominated to run in a general election.

If a voter has recently moved, made a legal name change or wishes to change political party affiliation, the voter must re-register to vote. Individuals must reside within the 28th state Senate District to vote in the election.

To access an online voter registration form, Voter registration forms are also available by calling the Voter Registration Request Line at (800) 481-VOTE (8883) or at over 1,240 locations across the county, including Department of Motor Vehicles offices, libraries, fire stations, post offices, public assistance offices and city clerks offices.