For the 23rd year, the Westchester/LAX-Marina del Rey Chamber of Commerce will recognize the contributions of teachers from local schools during its annual Teacher Eddy Awards Dinner.

This year’s event will begin at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 16th, at the Hilton Los Angeles Airport, 5711 Century Blvd., Westchester.

Tickets are $35 per person and can be reserved by contacting the chamber at (310) 645-5151.

The Eddy Awards recognize teachers from elementary school through the university level for their efforts in educating young people.

The dinner will also recognize the 2006 Friends of Education, selected from the business and education community for their support of education in Westchester, Playa del Rey, and Marina del Rey.

“This is our version of the Oscars for our teachers,” said event chair Gwen Vuchsas. “Teachers seldom get the recognition they deserve, but we want them to know how special they are.”

Each teacher will receive a crystal Eddy Award. In addition, teachers and principals will be eligible for a series of prizes at the dinner.

Sponsors include the Hilton Los Angeles Airport Hotel, Playa Vista, Los Angeles World Airports, Loyola Marymount University, Rotary Club of Westchester, Westfield Shopping Mall at Fox Hills, and The William H. Hannon Foundation.

This year’s Eddy Awards will be awarded to:

– Linda Alexander, Loyola Village Elementary/Magnet School;

– Johanna Bernstein, Westchester Math & Aerospace Magnet School;

– Karen Casey, Visitation School;

– Karen Dennis, Paseo del Rey Natural Science Magnet School;

– Negretta Freeman, Playa del Rey Elementary School;

– Michael Fulling, Orville Wright Middle School;

– Kelli Galles, Westside Leadership Magnet School;

– Norma H. Galvan, Westchester-Emerson Community Adult School;

– Tom Gerhold, Westchester Lutheran Middle School;

– Melanie Jacobson, Loyola Village Elementary/Magnet School;

– Joan Kasparian, St. Jerome School;

– Gregory Koppenhauer, St. Anastasia School;

– Donia Moore, Cowan Avenue Elementary School;

– Wendy Morrison, Westside Neighborhood School;

– Brother James Reiter, St. Bernard High School;

– Liana Rivera, Westchester High School;

– Maureen Robinson, St. Bernard High School;

– Jim Starrett, Otis College of Art and Design;

– Sara Saez, Westport Heights Elementary School;

– Mary Ann Taylor, Kentwood Elementary School;

– Raymond Toal, Loyola Marymount University;

– Kathy White, Westchester Lutheran Elementary School; and

– Lynn Williams, Orville Wright Middle School.